Older People Living with Cancer

Peer advocates supporting older people affected by cancer

Advocacy on the Wards People

Leave a comment

We are delighted to report that staff across all five partner organisations are now fully involved in the project. They have been recruiting and training Volunteer Cancer Support Advocates. Excellent publicity materials have been developed to ensure that those older people affected by cancer who may be considering ‘putting something back’ know about us and how to get involved. They will be helping their peers along the often complex and confusing cancer journey using their own experiences complemented by our training and support.

Now we are going all out to build the local referral networks we need to have in place to enable older people affected by cancer that need this service get to hear about it. If you have been affected by cancer or know someone else who could use our support do please refer them to one of our partner organisations listed below.

Macmillan/Silver Dreams Project REFERRAL Contacts.

Sefton Pensioners’ Advocacy Centre, Shakespeare Street, Southport, PR8 5AB. Telephone: 01704 538411

Andrew Booth Chief Executive andrew@spacadvocacy.org.uk
Helen Vernon Advocate Helen@spacadvocacy.org.uk
Margaret Lambert Vol Co-ordinator Margaret@spacadvocacy.org.uk

Dorset Advocacy, 3 Princes Street, Dorchester, Dorset, DT1 1TP. Telephone: 0300 111 3303

Mike Pochin Development Manager mike@dorsetadvocacy.co.uk
Chris Harker Vol Co-ordinator christopher@dorsetadvocacy.co.uk
Jeanette Croft Vol Co-ordinator jeanette@dorsetadvocacy.co.uk

Help & Care, Pokesdown Centre, 896 Christchurch Road, Bournemouth, Dorset, BH7 6DL.Telephone: 0300 111 3303

Kathleen Gillett Advocacy Co-ordinator Kathleen.gillett@helpandcare.org.uk

Age UK Gateshead, 341 – 343 High Street, Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, NE8 1EQ. Telephone: 0191 477 559

Alan Davison Advocate alan.davison@ageconcerngateshead.org.uk

Beth Johnson Foundation, Parkfield House, 64 Princes Street, Stoke on Trent. ST4 7JL. Telephone: 01782 844036

Kath Curley Advocate kath@bjf.org.uk
Betty Machin Advocacy Manager betty@bjf.org.uk
Jo Swinsford Administrator jo@bjf.org.uk

Advertisements

Author: kathparson

Chief Executive of Older People's Advocacy Alliance (UK)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s